Diagram for the Vegetable Garden

Before planting a vegetable garden, it’s best to have a diagram of where everything will be planted.  It’s also good to have a diagram from the previous year, so you can do crop rotation in your garden.  Rotating crops is a good idea because it helps keep the pests down.  Also a good thing to confuse pests is to plant the same crop in two or more places.  I sometimes plant tomatoes all around the garden.  That seems to confuse the hornworm.  Last year I planted the tomatoes together and the hornworm had a field day.  The year before, I planted them in all different sections of the garden and the hornworm couldn’t find them.  Something to think about.  When I draw my diagram, I usually mark the year on it.  I draw the fence on the paper and then the two sections that are my garden.  My garden on paper is equal to two sheets of 8×10 paper taped together.  I then draw rectangles in side the lines that are the fence.  I then label the rectangles with the name of the crop.  I use circles for tomatoes, eggplants, and peppers, and sometimes squash.  I take my diagram outside with me at planting time.  I plant my seeds according to the diagram.  When I’m done with all my planting, I keep my diagram until the next year and then when I draw up the new diagram, I know where the plants were the previous year and where they will be the new year.

About theorganicchickenlady

At one time owner of Connie's Bakeshop in Mattituck, moved on to raise chickens organically for their eggs. I own very small farm with 2 geese 75 hens 4 roosters two dogs I grow all my own organic vegetables.
This entry was posted in Northfork organic eggs. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

