In the Coop

This morning at 7:30 as I walked up my snow-covered driveway to the coop, I paused at the front doors to listen to the noises that came from inside.  I could hear one of the roosters crowing and the clucking of all the chickens, not to mention some other strange sounds that they make.  I slowly opened the doors.  Good Morning boys and girls!  Of course they were so happy to see me, because they knew they were going to get fed. 

I have to tell you, it’s a tough time feeding time.  I have a door that divides the front of the coop from the back, so the younger chickens are in the front and the older ones in the back, but now that they have all grown up and acclimated, when I open the door everybody goes crazy and they start running into the front.  Out comes my scoop of food and the chickens are jumping on my feet, my arms, and on my back when I bend down to place the food in the feeders.  A reminder for myself to wear an old coat, but I always forget and wear my good coat.  Oh well… I come out with sh— all over me.  It’s two days since my son helped me clean the hen-house and it’s beginning to show signs for another cleaning job.  Well I’ll think about that tomorrow.   I collected the eggs, four dozen so far and by this afternoon I should have a dozen or so more.

About theorganicchickenlady

At one time owner of Connie's Bakeshop in Mattituck, moved on to raise chickens organically for their eggs. I own very small farm with 2 geese 75 hens 4 roosters two dogs I grow all my own organic vegetables.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

