Winter Wonderland

I bundled myself up and got myself ready to walk up my snow covered driveway.  At 4:15 every afternoon I go up to the coop to get the girls (my chickens) and my four roosters ready for the evening.  My two geese are usually right behind me honking and beeping about going into their house too.  Adrian my gander and Ellie Mae my goose now have their own house.  I designed it , and my husband built it especially for them.  It looks like a doll house.   All cozy and nice as they enter the straw covered floor with  a pail of fresh water and food.  Night night Adrian, Night night Ellie.  Mommy loves you.  After they are settled in me and my Poodle Muffin make our way up the driveway to the coop.  Muffin likes to come with me to round up the chickens.  Unfortuneately, on these snow covered days the chickens aren’t out.  They only peck at the white snow.  They are nice an cozy in the hen house waiting to have their second meal for the day.  No chasing tonight Muf, as she stands outside the hen house whinning to join me inside.  I collect the rest of the eggs, dish out their chicken feed, close the doors tight.  Sometimes I sing them a song.  Not tonight.  Night night girls and boys see you in the morning.  Come on Muf let’s go.

Reipe for the day

Frittata

In a large cast iron frying pan I drizzled some olive oil, chopped up a onion to saute, added some chopped beet greens from my garden that I froze for winter consumption. I sauted the beet greens with the onions.  Then I added some cooked wheat berries.  On top of that I added about a cup of ricotta cheese, I dotted it around the top along with some shredded mozzerella cheese.  I beat up about ten of my most delicious eggs with salt and pepper and poured it over the top.  I poke some holes so the egg would make it’s way underneath, lowered the heat and covered the frittata.  The most amazing thing about this is that, you don’t have to worry about ever having to flip it out of the pan.  The egg fluffs up nice and when you remove the cover the frittata is ready to be cut into wedges right inside the pan.  Sprinkle with your favorite grated cheese and serve it.  Delicious!

This article is part of  Real Food Wednesday at kelly the kitchen kop.

About theorganicchickenlady

At one time owner of Connie's Bakeshop in Mattituck, moved on to raise chickens organically for their eggs. I own very small farm with 2 geese 75 hens 4 roosters two dogs I grow all my own organic vegetables.
This entry was posted in chickens, Northfork organic eggs, recipes and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Winter Wonderland

  1. This is my second attempt at blogging. I’m starting to get it. Da! I signed up just a few hours ago and thought the comment page was my blog. I typed a whole story only to loose it some how. I have no idea where it went. Well I hope I did the right job. I believe that my post is on the home page, and I guess that’s where all the posts will be each day.

Leave a Reply

