Chicks vs Chickens

Looking back two years when I first got my chicks.  I remember being so excited and anxious about them coming in the mail.  I told the Post Office to tell me immediately when the babies arrived.  When they called I drove to the Post Offices back parking lot and loading dock.  I had ordered 25 chickens and I was expecting them to come in a large box.  I entered the Post Office and asked for the chicks.  I told them I had parked in the back.  What for” asked the Postmaster, here is your box of babies.”  The box was smaller then a shoe box. ” There’s 25 babies in there?  I asked”  “Yes, said the Postmaster.  I looked into the peep holes and I could see them all huddled together.   They were chirping so loud.  I got them into the front seat of the car, and I talked to them about their new home and new life.  They were so happy and so was I.  When I got them home I put them in a large Rubbermaid tote.  I lined the bottom with  pine shavings and I hung a heat lamp so they would be warm.  I had a long dish so they could eat from both sides and I had a small water container for them to drink from.  As I put each chick into their new home, the Rubbermaid,  I had to dip each chicks beak into the water so they would know where to drink and I had to check the chicks butt to make sure there was no poop mashed against it.  If there was poop then I would have to soak a cotton ball in warm water and wipe their little butts and remove the poop so they can continue to poop.  If I  didn’t do that they wouldn’t be able to poop and they could die.  They were so cute and lovable.  Yellow with a red glow.  And oh so very loud.  

When you get them they are newly hatched only about two to three days old and they know how to eat and drink on their own.  They huddle together under the lamp to keep warm.  They run around chasing each other.  They are so adorable.  Three days later I started to notice all this dust.  I didn’t know if it was coming from the chicks or the heat lamp. Everything in my foyer was covered with this dusty powder.  I knew they were going to be in there for weeks and oh what a mess that would be.  But I wanted chicks.

When they became teenagers we moved them to the coop, by then we knew one of them was a Rooster.  I named him Rooty.  He was the only one with a name.  We didn’t name the girls only one or two of them. 

We now have a total of 79 chickens a few died.  We have three more roosters one named Cosby, another named Theo and Freddie.  I love to sit and watch the chickens.  They make me smile.  They give me such a peaceful feeling.  I love to hear the rooster crow.  They make all kinds of sounds.  Today when I went up to the coop one of them made a sound like a velasorapter.  It reminded me of Jurassic Park, and how these chickens are probably ancestors to the dinosaur.  When the sun is shinning and there is no snow on the ground the chickens dig a hole in the dirt and fluff the dirt under their feathers to keep themselves clean.  Chickens are very interesting birds.     

C

About theorganicchickenlady

At one time owner of Connie's Bakeshop in Mattituck, moved on to raise chickens organically for their eggs. I own very small farm with 2 geese 75 hens 4 roosters two dogs I grow all my own organic vegetables.
This entry was posted in Northfork organic eggs. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

