Too Clean or Not to Clean the Eggs

That is the Question?

I take my red basket up with me to the coop in the morning to collect the eggs.  Sometimes the eggs are spotless.  Sometimes there is just a bit of poop on them. Yes you heard that right, I said poop. When I see poop I use a clean damp cloth to wipe off the eggs.  On rare occasions I might have to wash the eggs.  This is something I don’t like to do, because there is a protective coating on the outside of the shell.  So when you wash them you remove the coating.  Thank God I don’t have to do that often.  Keeping the hen-house clean and dry helps to not spread the poop around.  If the hen-house is damp from poop, the hens get it all over their feet.  Then when they step in the lay boxes to lay, they are climbing over somebody elses eggs and making a mess.  That’s when the eggs get soiled and you have no choice but to wash them.  I use cold water and a little scrubby so it’s fast.  Not cleaning the eggs at all is the best because then you can leave your eggs out at room temperature and not worry.  But once you wipe them, they must be refrigerated.   When most people get a dozen eggs, they want to see clean brown eggs in a carton.  Not eggs with poop all over them.   Also when you crack an egg you don’t want poop getting into your dish.   Eggs also have a protective coating on the inside.  You can see that when you are peeling a hardboiled egg.  It’s that thin skin under the shell.   That stops anything from penetrating the egg.   Eggs over-all  are durable and you don’t have to worry too much about them.

About theorganicchickenlady

At one time owner of Connie's Bakeshop in Mattituck, moved on to raise chickens organically for their eggs. I own very small farm with 2 geese 75 hens 4 roosters two dogs I grow all my own organic vegetables.
This entry was posted in Northfork organic eggs. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

