Saturday’s Soup

I don’t know if I mentioned it but in the spring and summer and fall I grow an organic vegetable garden.  I grow many different types of vegetables.  When I have an excess of vegetables I slice them up and freeze them. I freeze the vegetables in freezer bags so that they stack nicely in the freezer.  I froze my plum tomatoes, string beans, summer squash, bok choi, mustard greens, green squash, beet tops, and escarole all for winter use.  When I need the vegetables I take them out and put them in a strainer and let them sit and drain.   Then I can use them to sauté, in omelets and soups. 

Here is a recipe for Saturday Soup

In a large pot I  put 1 onion chopped sautéed it in 3 tbsp of  olive oil about,  1 clove of garlic minced, sauté and about two cups of peeled tomatoes.  ( When you want the skins off the tomatoes, all you have to do is run the semi-frozen tomato under cool water and off comes the skins)Saute up the tomatoes.  Then I added about 2 cups of chopped summer squash, 2 cups of cut up string beans, 1 cup of chopped escarole.  Continue to sauté.  I added a variety of beans that I soaked and boiled. I added a 16 ounce jar of homemade veal stock, 2 cups of water salt and pepper to taste and I cooked the soup for 40 minutes.  I boiled up some elbow rice pasta and added it to the soup.  I also poached 4 eggs on top of the soup.  I served up the eggs in each bowl of soup. 

Beans

I soak my beans a day or so before I need to use them and keep changing the water.  Sometimes the beans begin to sprout.  Sprouting is a good thing.  Then I dump the beans in a pot with their water and I keep boiling until I no longer see the white phone.  I cook the beans until they are aldante.  Removing the whte foam off the beans eliminates the gas problems that people have when they eat beans.

About theorganicchickenlady

At one time owner of Connie's Bakeshop in Mattituck, moved on to raise chickens organically for their eggs. I own very small farm with 2 geese 75 hens 4 roosters two dogs I grow all my own organic vegetables.
This entry was posted in Northfork organic eggs. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

