A Jar of Seeds/Sprouts

Spending a lot of my days indoors due to these very cold winters and snow, I find myself daydreaming of March/Spring and planting seeds in my vegetable garden.  For now, while in my home I plant seeds in my sprouter.  I use the same seeds that I grow in my garden like cabbage, and broccoli and mustard and other seeds that I don’t use in my garden like alfalfa.

I start with a clean jar, place about three table spoons of seed and cover them with water and let them soak for about 12 hours.  After the soaking period I drain my seed right into my sprouter a little basket that has a top and a bottom and holes for good air circulation.  One of the best things for your health is to eat live fresh green food.  All I do is spray cold water on my seeds three times a day with at least 6 hours in-between each watering.  I use a soft spray so the seeds stay in one place.  I do this everyday for about a week. 

It’s exciting to watch how seeds grow. You get to watch the process right on your counter.  First it develops a root system and then little leaves begin to grow as it pushes away the seed. The same thing occurs under the earth when you plant them out in your garden.  Keep your seeds out of sunlight.  Keep them by the window for light.  Soon your sprouts will develop little green leaves.  The sprouts are now ready to eat and enjoy. 

When you eat them they give you a boost of energy.  They are very delicious.  Store them in the refrigerator in a container with holes or in your basket with a plastic bag open over them to keep them from drying out.  As long as they have ventilation, they will keep for a week.  Enjoy them just like that or in salads or on a sandwich.  A nutritious healthy snack.

About theorganicchickenlady

At one time owner of Connie's Bakeshop in Mattituck, moved on to raise chickens organically for their eggs. I own very small farm with 2 geese 75 hens 4 roosters two dogs I grow all my own organic vegetables.
This entry was posted in Northfork organic eggs. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

