Chicken Soup for Dinner

On Saturday I did in four of my chickens.  They would have been 2 years old in April.  Since I’ve raised them on great food, no pesticides or herbicides and no soy and they were roaming free when possible, I thought it would be a good idea to try out a couple of them.  So with the help from my spanish friend Edwin we killed the four hens. 

It totally was a learning experience.  First we caught the chickens, then we tied their feet.  We brought them into the woods away from the coop.  Edwin took out a sharp knife.  I held the chickens wings and he slit the throat, we let the chicken bleed out.  It was hard because the chicken was trying to flap its wings.  Then we cut it a little deeper and more blood came out.  Then we cut off the chicken’s head.  This  was the scary part because the brain was telling the chicken to take a breath its last.  The mouth opened and then closed.  A really scary thought entered my mind.  I just looked away.  We hung the chicken from the tree to let its blood drain.  We did this to the other three chickens.  I think next time I will use a construction cone with the top cut off so I don’t have to hold the chicken.  You really have to have the mind-set for this.  After all I raised these chickens since they were babies.  I talked to them, but I always told them that I would eat them someday.  It was almost like they knew it too.   A friend once told me that chickens have a purpose in this life. They are meant to be eaten and they know it.  My husband was in the house boiling a very large pot of water to dip the chickens so we could pluck off their feathers.  I must say that this was very time-consuming.  In other words a lot of work.  I dipped the chicken in the hot water for approximately 30 seconds and when I began to pluck, the feathers came right off.  After the chickens feathers were removed we brought them into the house to rinse them off and on to the cutting board they went.  This job would be better done outside, but because it was winter and we weren’t set up for it outside we took them inside.  Well!, when you cut open the chicken it has a most unusual smell.  Not a bad smell, but something that seems too remain in your nostrils.  After it’s done you can still smell it if you think about it.  Cutting open the chickens, unfortunately we found that they had eggs in them and they would still be laying not every day but every other day or so.  First cut was to remove the crop.  This is where the chicken stores the food.  There was food there because we didn’t keep them from eating.  You are supposed to keep the chicken in another pen without food for a day.  We didn’t do that, so there was a lot of food in the crop.  Then my husband cut between the legs carefully not to cut the intestines and so forth.  Up inside the cavity you could see the eggs that were all different sizes.  Interesting!  He removed the organs, the liver and gizzard and the heart.  We placed them in ice water.  He was careful not to puncture the gall bladder and bile duct.  Then he cut the chicken in half and we put that in the ice water too.  I chilled one of the chickens in my refrigerator for 12 hours so I could make soup the next day.   I bagged the other chickens and froze them  for another time.  Sunday I boiled the chicken for three hours to make chicken soup.  The chicken had a wonderful clean taste.  The bones were healthy looking.  The soup was tasty.

About theorganicchickenlady

At one time owner of Connie's Bakeshop in Mattituck, moved on to raise chickens organically for their eggs. I own very small farm with 2 geese 75 hens 4 roosters two dogs I grow all my own organic vegetables.
This entry was posted in Northfork organic eggs. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

