Mother goose

My two geese still think I’m their mother.  I raised them almost two years ago.  They follow me everywhere.  When I call my gander by his name he answers.  No matter where they are when they hear me call they come waddling along.  Geese are wonderful pets.  They are excellent watchdogs, and occasionally they might try to bite the tires on  some of my friends cars when they drive down my driveway.  They will always protect me when strangers come down the driveway, even if the people are my friends.   To the geese they are strangers.  One thing about them is that they are very loud.  They can be intimidating at times.  If they don’t like you the gander may come at you with his wings and try to beat you with them.  This is something that my gander will do with my older son, and some of my male friends.  Then I have to get in between the gander and the victim and tell the gander no.  They listen to me because….I’m their mother.  My ganders name is Adrian and my goose’s name is Ellie Mae.  Adrian was named after Adrian Petersen the football player on the Vikings and Ellie was originally named after Eli Manning of the Giants.  Eli turned out to be a female.  So that’s how she became Ellie. 

This time of year is the beginning of mating season, and Adrian is doing his thing.  Soon Ellie will be laying her eggs in the nest.  She lays from March to the end of June.  The eggs are three times the size of  large chicken egg.  The white of the egg is very clear, and thick.  The yolk is orange-yellow.  In my opinion, I don’t believe that the eggs have much flavor.   A duck egg has much more flavor.  Remember the cartoon the Flintstones, well the goose eggs remind me of the dinosaur eggs that Wilma use to crack in the frying pan.  My son Craig loves the goose eggs for breakfast.

One of the things my geese have done recently is waltzed into the house through the opened front door honking and beeping about how happy they are to be inside the house.    They waddle through the house like they own it, and sit on the dogs bed.  My dogs run inside their dog house.  I don’t mind when they come in, but they poop a little too much so then I have to shoe them out.  Last summer my husband built them a goose house, that looks just like a little girls play house. They love their new house.  This year they have discovered that we live on the water .  They are so happy with their new water hole.  It’s salt water, buy they don’t seem to mind.  When 5:00pm rolls in they are walking up through the gate honking (calling me that it’s time to go into their house.  I make sure they have clean water and food and then I sing them their favorite song.  A Dream is a Wish from the Walt Disney movie Cinderella.  Adrian gets real quiet.  Night! Night! Adrian, Night! Night ! Ellie.  Mommy loves you.

About theorganicchickenlady

At one time owner of Connie's Bakeshop in Mattituck, moved on to raise chickens organically for their eggs. I own very small farm with 2 geese 75 hens 4 roosters two dogs I grow all my own organic vegetables.
This entry was posted in Northfork organic eggs. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

