Organic Gardening

In two days it will be March.  By April I’ll be tilling the garden and getting ready to plant my peas.  I already started my diagram for where I’m going to plant my vegetables.  Each year I rotate the crops so I have a diagram of what I planted the previous year and what I’m going to plant this year.  Well I certainly have a lot of chicken poop for the garden and I’ll be shoveling in the other compost that I made last spring and summer and fall.  I so look forward to growing my vegetables.  It is such a rewarding experience.  I am planning to grow broccoli, cabbage green and red, celery, garlic, onions, lettuces, leeks, kale,spinach, swiss chard, mustard greens, tomatoes,eggplants and peppers, cucumbers, squash green and spaghetti squash, beets, radish,arugula, potatoes.  I also grow blackberries, blueberries, strawberries,raspberries, rhubarb,peaches, apples.  I think I covered it all.  Some of the fruit plants are in the garden, and some are outside and around the garden. 

I love to get up early in the mornings when the mornings are warm and the sun is shinning and sit in the garden.  I usually have a bench set out.  I usually say a prayer, talk to the vegetables and the beneficial insects and just meditate.  It’s a very wonderful feeling.  I feel way close to the Lord there.  I usually have a cup of tea with me and I’m in my nightgown just the way I like it.  In the background you can hear all the birds chirping, the squirrels rummaging, and the hens clucking and the roosters crowing.  The animals are all happy because there is more day light and it’s spring.

About theorganicchickenlady

At one time owner of Connie's Bakeshop in Mattituck, moved on to raise chickens organically for their eggs. I own very small farm with 2 geese 75 hens 4 roosters two dogs I grow all my own organic vegetables.
This entry was posted in Northfork organic eggs. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

