74

You might say…”What is 74?  To you it’s just a number, but too me it has a great meaning.

74 is not just a number too me.  It means 70 hens and 4 roosters that get along marvelous.  A whole lot of chicken.  Today they are outside roaming around in search of….The ground is hard, but they still seem able to scratch it.  They are finding little creatures to munch on.  Or they are in the penned in area rolling around in the sand and fluffing it through their wings.  Pretty soon they will be making their way towards the house and scratching around in my flower beds, and then I’ll have to run outside and chase them, or I’ll have no gardens left. 

I’m sitting by the computer by the window and I am watching my two geese nibble upon the grass, it’s a very pale green but Eli my goose seems too be enjoying it just fine.  Eli’s been laying eggs every other day now.  If anyone is interested in goose eggs,  I have them here.  You may ask, why don’t I let her hatch her eggs.  Well it’s because geese are a lot of work to raise.  The first person they see becomes their mom.  Which in my case with my two geese I am their mom and they follow me everywhere.  They are quite difficult when they are little, and time-consuming like care giving to any type of baby.  I can’t chance having another gander either, because Adrian my gander would definitely not accept another male.  A chance I do not want to take.  And I have few other reasons, but pretty much you get the gist of it. 

What to do with a goose egg?  Well you can hard boil them they take close to a 1/2 hour to become hard-boiled.  They can make a nice omelet.  One goose egg is equal to 3 large chicken eggs.  They are great to bake with too.  I know that some of my Greek friends have some really great recipes for goose eggs and I need to get my hands on those recipes.  Or if there is anyone out there with a good recipe for goose eggs something amazingly delicious please send it my way.

Have a great day everyone…

About theorganicchickenlady

At one time owner of Connie's Bakeshop in Mattituck, moved on to raise chickens organically for their eggs. I own very small farm with 2 geese 75 hens 4 roosters two dogs I grow all my own organic vegetables.
This entry was posted in Northfork organic eggs. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

