Jumping at the Bit

I’m getting very anxious to get into my vegetable garden.  Although the weather isn’t promising today, I’m still getting anxious.  I want to start cleaning up all the leaves and old vines that were left from the summer and fall.  I know by April something I’ll be tilling the garden and already planting my potatoes and peas.   I’ve already ordered my lettuce seeds to plant.  One more week and March will be gone, so I know that the warm weather will be here fast.  It seems that March came in like a lion and might be going out that way too.  I’m hoping that we have a happy medium this year as far as weather goes.  Last year we had such a dry spell and the year before rain puddles.  So I’m hoping for a little of both this year.  Although last summer was the perfect climate for egg plants.  They love tropical hot weather and that’s what we got.  I had so many eggplants.  I fried them, pickled them, stuffed them.  They were perfect and delicious.    It was great for tomatoes too.  I had so many cherries, that I wound up cutting them in salads, cooking them and making salsa, and one of the best things I did with them was to dry them in  a 200 degree oven until they were dry, but soft.  I cut them in half and placed them on a parchment lined pan.  They were the best like that.  So sweet and chewy.  A great snack.  I intend to grow a lot of cherry tomatoes this year too.    Onions, oh they were the best I ever grew.  I grew white, yellow and red.  They were so sweet, and I used them throughout the summer.  I just looked out the window and it’s snowing again.  Ugh!  Oh well, I guess I’ll just have to wait a little longer…

About theorganicchickenlady

At one time owner of Connie's Bakeshop in Mattituck, moved on to raise chickens organically for their eggs. I own very small farm with 2 geese 75 hens 4 roosters two dogs I grow all my own organic vegetables.
This entry was posted in Northfork organic eggs. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

