Squirrels

So many squirrels.  We had such a terrible winter this year and  I believe the squirrels have resorted to eating every bud on my two tulip trees.  They also have nibbled on the star magnolias.  I don’t think I will have blooms this year.  This morning I gave them a pile of sunflower seeds.  I was hoping it would keep them away from the tulip tree, but I kept seeing them climb up into the tree anyway.  I had to chase them out.  They are quite cute though, and I should know because I raised a squirrel three summers ago.  I rescued him when he was a few weeks old.  We named him Lucky-baby.  He was the cutest thing ever.  I fed him puppy formula mixed with raw cream and water in a tiny bottle for about two weeks.  He use to sleep in the pocket of my bath-robe curled up in a ball.  As he grew, he’d climb up out of my pocket and onto my shoulder.  Of course he had his own cage.  I had filled the cage with leaves and pine needles and some feathers.  I put an old pair of ear muffs made of rabbit fur in his cage so he could sleep with them and keep him company.  It was the cutest thing he’d lay on one muff and cover himself with the other.  He’d run in and out of his cage.  I even took him out to learn how to climb trees and run and play in the grass.  I’d make squirrel sounds and he’d answer back.  As Lucky grew he found the hole in the screen in the back door that my dogs used to get in and out.  He figured he could use it too. He’d come in and look around the corner to see where the dogs were and then run too his cage.  He was a loving animal.  He’d make kissing noises in my ear, and he’d hold my finger with his paw.  When he finally left the nest, so to speak his first home was in a pine tree just outside the window of where his cage was.  I’d see him looking in the window in the mornings from a branch.  I’d know it was him because he would always place his little paw on his chest and look right into my eyes.  Today he’ll occasionally call me from a tree.  Or sometimes I might see him climbing on something near the back door and see him looking in the window.  So even though we have so many squirrels,  they will always have a special place in my heart.

About theorganicchickenlady

At one time owner of Connie's Bakeshop in Mattituck, moved on to raise chickens organically for their eggs. I own very small farm with 2 geese 75 hens 4 roosters two dogs I grow all my own organic vegetables.
This entry was posted in Northfork organic eggs. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

