Spring

It’s finally here.  The forsythia is in bloom along with tulips, daffodils, star magnolia and tulip trees.  The grass is starting to get green.  Even though it’s still chilly out, I know the warmer weather is on its way.  Two more weeks and it will be May.  In my vegetable garden the  peas are already coming up.  My onions are starting to show their green tops and the spinach finally broke ground and is showing its little green leaf.  Today I planted broccoli, green cabbage and red cabbage.    Next week I’ll be planting my beet seeds, carrots, swiss chard, lettuces, and radish, and some mustards.  My soil is so rich again this year.  We mixed in lots of chicken manure and last springs compost and the ashes from the fire-place.  It felt great to run my hands into it while planting.

About theorganicchickenlady

At one time owner of Connie's Bakeshop in Mattituck, moved on to raise chickens organically for their eggs. I own very small farm with 2 geese 75 hens 4 roosters two dogs I grow all my own organic vegetables.
This entry was posted in Northfork organic eggs. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

