Summer in the Organic Vegetable Garden

My plants are looking good this year.  I think it’s from all the organic matter that we have added to the soil.  I have been spreading around the compost from the pile from last year.  Black gold.  It’s so beautiful.  As soon as  I put it around the eggplant and pepper plants, they started  producing so much fruit, it’s amazing.  My eggplants aren’t as tall as they were last year, I believe they enjoyed that very hot weather that we had.  This year was heavy rain in the beginning of the season and hot humid now which is what the tomato plants love.  I think that’s why my tomatoes are turning red faster this year.  All my zucchini plants are doing marvelous, except for one.  I have picked about 15 zucchini already.  I have beautiful red cabbages.  They are so sweet.  I made a cole slaw.  It was delicious.  I think I’m at the end of my lettuces, and endive but will be starting another crop in August for the cooler weather.  I have planted some turnips for the fall.  We’ve gone just about all the collards and there is still about to plants left the others died from the heat.  The green cabbage has some nice large heads.  My golden beets and red beets have been so sweet and delicious.  We eat the tops of the beets sautéed with garlic and olive oil.  The tops are better than spinach.  The swiss chard has also been very good.  It doesn’t have that earthy taste.  They are much sweeter this year.  The leaves are large and savoyed.  I had a very good crop of peas.  The ones that you eat shell and all.  They were late to start, but so sweet and delicious. The carrots are on their way.  The edamae are getting their pods.  We had a problem with them about a month ago.  The deer decided to give my garden a little visit.  They never went in the garden in all the years that I have been here. They didn’t trample anything, they were very careful but they ate the new leaves on the edamae plants, took a bite out of one of the red cabbages and ate some of the string beans.  Then they left.  We than raised the garden fence up to nine feet with nylon string spaced a foot and a half apart.  I then hung white cloth on the string tjat was dipped in human urine so the deer would smell that and stay away.  So far so good.  We have gotten a lot of broccoli.  I planted a large crop and after picking the large heads, I’ve been getting side shoots for over a month now.  My string beans have been producing like crazy.  The other day I picked a bushel full.  I froze about six bags.  I’ve been eating string beans for breakfast and for dinner.  They are one of my favorites.  I’ll give you some recipes for them.  The celery plants are doing good. The hearts are nice and white and oh so sweet.  For celery you have to mound the dirt up around them so the hearts stay nice and white otherwise you won’t get white hearts they will stay green.  My onions were small this year.  I don’t think they were to happy with all the rain, but even though they were small they weren’t hot.  One of my most favorite places to be is in the organic vegetable garden.  I visit it in the morning, afternoon and evening.  I weed, pick the fruits and hand-pick any bugs that I know that aren’t good and feed them to the hens. 

Recipe for string beans

using a cast iron frying pan I heat up some olive oil, chop up some fresh garlic and add to the oil than I add my string beans.  I cut up some fresh tomatoes, add some sprigs of basil a little salt and pepper to taste.  Put a lid on it and cook until the string beans are tender.  This is a very delicious way to eat string beans.  You can also add chunks of eggplant to this and zucchini. 

Another way to cook string beans is with potatoes.  I use my new potatoes the red ones.  I put them in a pot with the string beans add water just to cover the potatoes and beans.  When the potatoes are cooked the string beans will be too.  I drain out some of the water, I add olive oil and fresh chopped garlic and cooked a little more. I chop up the potatoes a little some they become creamy and kind of meld around the beans.  This is another delicious dish.  There are no measurements to these dishes.  They preppared to your liking.  Add the oil by drizzling over the vegetables, add as much garlic and seasoning as you like. 

Another way to cook string beans is to make a Pesto sauce with fresh basil parsley and garlic.  Cook the strings in a pan or pot until tender, add the pesto sauce too them.  Season with salt and pepper and parmesan cheese.  You can add potatoes to this if you like. 

Enjoy.

About theorganicchickenlady

At one time owner of Connie's Bakeshop in Mattituck, moved on to raise chickens organically for their eggs. I own very small farm with 2 geese 75 hens 4 roosters two dogs I grow all my own organic vegetables.
This entry was posted in Northfork organic eggs. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

