Where did that 77degree weather go?

It certainly was a tease.  I so want it to be warmer.  It’s been cool this last two weeks.  I know it’s only early spring, but that extra warm weather was great.  It’s just what the doctor ordered.  I need that in my life now.  I’m tired of the cold, I don’t want to do much outside yet.  When it’s cold I just want to hibernate.  I know all of a sudden it will be May. Yeah! I can’t wait.  In March I planted in the vegetable garden.  I have garlic in there along with potatoes, peas and beets.  I have strawberry plants, raspberry and blackberry.  The end of April I’ll plant my lettuces, broccoli and cabbage.  I put a bunch of beach rocks around the garden fence to stop the rabbits from digging under.  My chickens go out in the afternoons and pull the rocks away from the garden fence by scratching. They can certainly be annoying at times.  My chickens haven’t been laying that good.  I think they are confused with the weather too.  When it’s cold they don’t lay.  When it’s warm they lay more. Today there was only one dozen eggs.  I have 37 hens.  Where’s the eggs?  I guess they decided to take a rest.  Well off for now.  I’ll talk to you all again soon.

About theorganicchickenlady

At one time owner of Connie's Bakeshop in Mattituck, moved on to raise chickens organically for their eggs. I own very small farm with 2 geese 75 hens 4 roosters two dogs I grow all my own organic vegetables.
This entry was posted in Northfork organic eggs and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

